Lost Voices
CST116      CD 180gLP MP3 FLAC

"A dynamic nine-song collection that ranges from dark and brooding to uplifting and celebratory... Soaring, dramatic and entirely engaging."

"An immediate and arresting expedition into new wilds for Esmerine... 'Lost Voices' is a burning lament, a hopeful swing at the void, bright moments of clarity wrenched from the impenetrable."
PopMatters • 8/10

"The fifth album from the Montreal chamber rock collective is a beguiling mass of dialled-down post-rock, classical figures and exploratory soundscapes... At its most muscular (the driving electric guitars of "19/14") or its most tender (the delicate "A Trick of the Light"), 'Lost Voices' manages mood and melody with a deft and hypnotic grace. "My Mama Pinned a Rose On Me" introduces marimba and even here, where texture takes precedence over melody, the whole remains dynamic and taut. 'Lost Voices' takes time, on occasion, to breathe and relax but it steadfastly avoids the indulgence of 'ambient' or wanton noodling. Beyond words, beyond beautiful."
The Skinny • 8/10

"Rebecca Foon’s cello, haunting and alive, blends fluidly among the many musical styles present on the album. From the heights of “The Neighbourhoods Rise”, to the softness of “Our Love We Sing”, to the rhythmic technicalities of “19/14”, she has our full attention. Bruce Cawdron’s marimbas, vibraphones, and glockenspiel create palettes of moods effortlessly. The album is timeless, contemporary, and at the same time rooted in Western tradition – but not without questioning and challenging it."
Quick Before It Melts
DalmakEsmerine  CD / 180gLP / DL
I Thought It Was Us But It Was All Of UsSaltland  CD / 180gLP / DL
'ALLELUJAH! DON'T BEND! ASCEND!  Godspeed You! Black Emperor  180gLP+7"/ CD / DL
La LechuzaEsmerine  CD / 180gLP / DL
13 Blues For Thirteen MoonsThee Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchestra   CD / 2x180gLP / DL
Horses In The SkyThee Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchestra   CD / 2x180gLP / DL
Yanqui U.X.O.Godspeed You! Black Emperor   CD / 2x180gLP / DL
Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To HeavenGodspeed You Black Emperor!   2x180gLP
Slow Riot For New Zero KanadaGodspeed You Black Emperor!LP
F#A#∞ [1995-1997]Godspeed You Black Emperor!        180gLP

• A CLOSER LISTEN: #4 Album of 2015
• LOUD & QUIET: Album Of The Week
Instrumental Album Of The Year
• 2016 JUNO WINNER: Album Package Of The Year

Montréal chamber rock ensemble Esmerine return with the new full-length album Lost Voices, the most dynamic and incendiary record of the group’s career, following its highly-acclaimed and Juno award-winning 2013 release Dalmak. Led by co-founders Bruce Cawdron (Godspeed You! Black Emperor) on various mallet instruments and Rebecca Foon (Thee Silver Mt. Zion, Saltland) on cello, Esmerine also includes drummer/percussionist Jamie Thompson (The Unicorns, Islands, Little Scream) and multi-instrumentalist Brian Sanderson.

Lost Voices is the result of multiple recording sessions led by Vid Cousins (Kid Koala, Amon Tobin, Colin Stetson) and was mixed/produced by Jace Lasek (The Besnard Lakes) at his Breakglass Studio in Montréal. The album features several tracks that are hands down among the band’s most rocking, making newfound use of electric guitars (courtesy a variety of guest players) alongside the group’s nucleus of marimba, strings and percussion. Expanding from Dalmak’s core quartet, Esmerine also welcomes bassist Jeremi Roy (who began touring with the group in 2013) as an official member; his contrabass work adds potent low-end to the heavier and more muscular jams on the new album. Lost Voices is equally notable for the appearance of GY!BE/Silver Mt. Zion violinist Sophie Trudeau as a featured guest; her intense and incomparable string sounds/styles elevate the potency of the record’s most soaring and high-octane pieces, particularly on opener “The Neighborhoods Rise”, “19/14” and the centerpiece track of Side Two, “Funambule”. Thompson’s drumming comes to the fore on these pieces too, and on the rock-steady minimalism of “A River Runs Through This City”, which satisfyingly harkens back to the likes of Tied & Tickled Trio, June Of 44, Shipping News and Lungfish.

Lost Voices can fairly be called Esmerine’s “rock” album, expanding upon the band’s celebrated prowess at deploying structure and dynamic, balancing melodic expression against methodical restraint through a diversity of stylistic touchstones (minimalism, post-rock, math-rock, desert rock) while allowing for explosive crescendos of exuberant density and maximalism that most notably distinguishes this record from previous work. The album nonetheless includes several instances of more spacious, searching and/or tender compositions – not only in some of the opening sections of the rock songs, but in stand-alone marimba-and-string-led pieces like “Pas Trop Pas Tropes” and “My Mamma Pinned A Rose On Me” and in the two piano-and-string minuets that close each side of the record.

Lost Voices is a deeply satisfying and evocative journey and another brilliant iteration of Esmerine’s distinctive instrumental chamber rock; cerebral and visceral, controlled and volatile, and wholly cinematic in scope throughout.

Thanks for listening.

Release date: 16 October 2015
Running time: 46:01

Packaging notes
CD comes in a custom gatefold jacket printed on thick 24pt. paperboard with a printed CD dust sleeve. LP is pressed on 180 gram virgin vinyl at Optimal (Germany) and comes in a heavyweight jacket with black poly-lined audiophile dust sleeve, credit insert, pull-out art poster and download code for 320 kbps MP3 copy of the album.

1. The Neighbourhoods Rise
2. A River Runs Through This City
3. Pas Trop Pas Tropes
4. 19/14
5. A Trick Of The Light
6. My Mamma Pinned A Rose On Me
7. Funambule (Deux Pas De Serein)
8. Our Love We Sing
9. Lullaby For Nola

Rebecca Foon: Cello, harmonium, piano, voice
Bruce Cawdron: Marimba, bowed marimba, glockenspiel, vibraphone
Jamie Thompson: Drums, marimba, glockenspiel
Brian Sanderson: Violin, ekonting, cavalry cornet, f horn, sarod, bass guitar
Jérémi Roy: Contrabass, bass guitar

James Hakan Dedeoglu: Guitar (tracks 1, 2, 4, 5, 7)
Sophie Trudeau: Violin (tracks 1, 5, 7, 9)
Jace Lasek: Guitar (tracks 1, 7), synth (track 6)
Pierre-Guy Blanchard: Darbuka, riq, glockenspiel (track 7)
Ian Ilavsky: Guitar (track 4)
Vid Cousins: Piano (track 5)
Colin Stetson: EVI (track 8)

Recorded by Vid Cousins at Mixart and Six Saint V in Montreal.
Mixed by Jace Lasek and Ian Ilavsky at Breakglass in Montreal.
Mastered by Ryan Morey.

Artwork by Clyde Henry Productions