Winter Hymn Country Hymn Secret Hymn
CST025      CD 2xLP MP3 FLAC

“Ranging from wistful moods to seething guitar crescendos, the nine instrumental tracks are more passionate and sonically extreme than ever before… It's a strong and dynamic step forward for the group.”

“For their fourth album, Toronto's Do Make Say Think tinge their instrumental rock with a more introspective tone, fractured by moments of triumph.”
The Wire

“‘Winter Hymn Country Hymn Secret Hymn’ is an album that is incredibly difficult not to enjoy.”
Flash Magazine

“These songs are lo-fi rural anthems, that swell from petite fragile melodies to huge, soaring behemoths, only to shrink again.”

“Do Make Say Think has the unnerving ability to take musical corners at full tilt, flow under doorways and walk through walls, leaving the listener scratching their head in bemusement and wonder.”
Ripsaw News

“[‘Winter Hymn, Country Hymn, Secret Hymn’] rewards the listener immensely for their patience: songs that initially seem engaging become enrapturing, sentiments that initially seem opaque become inviting, structures that initially seem daunting become enveloping.”
Delusions Of Adequacy

Do Make Say ThinkDo Make Say Think        CD / 2x180gLP / DL
Goodbye Enemy Airship The Landlord Is DeadDo Make Say Think   CD / LP / DL
& Yet & YetDo Make Say Think   CD / LP / DL
You You're A History In RustDo Make Say Think   CD / 180gLP / DL
Other TruthsDo Make Say Think   CD / 180gLP / DL

Do Make Say Think fashioned a fourth full-length album of tremendous beauty and depth, more loosely woven than previous records and played with a dark, wistful restraint throughout. These songs are eerie and iridescent, composed and captured with mesmerising attention to detail, guided by the band’s most intricate and intimate guitar passages to date, full of delicate transitions and soulful punctuations. Many of the songs feature a newfound non-linearity in compositional structure that once again raised the DMST bar, imbuing instrumental rock with heartrending — yes, even hymnal — narrative ideas.

More than any previous effort by the band, this is an album that demands to be listened to as a whole, or at least in the triptychs defined by the three-sided vinyl edition. Recorded in three sessions over the winter and spring of 2003, most of the tracks went to tape at two rural locations. The resulting campfire vibe on much of this material is reminiscent of the band’s second record, Goodbye Enemy Airship…, but with more density and complexity throughout. Mixed by the group at th’Schvitz, their Toronto home studio, the album highlights DMST’s inventive production touches, always at the service of the musical ideas.

Release date: 6 October 2003
Running time: 52:02

Packaging notes
CD xxxxxxxxx xxxxx.
LP xxxxxxxxx xxxxx.

1. Frederica
2. War On Want
3. Auberge Le Mouton Noir
4. Outer Inner Secret
5. 107 Reasons Why
6. Ontario Plates
7. Horns Of A Rabbit
8. It's Gonna Rain
9. Hooray! Hooray! Hooray!

Ohad Benchetrit: guitar, horns, keys
Dave Mitchell: drums
James Payment: drums
Justin Small: guitar, keys
Charles Spearin: guitar, bass, horns, keys

Brian Cram: horns
Mr. Jay Baird: horns

Recorded by Do Make Say Think. TRACKS 1, 4, 6, 7 recorded at the Rockwood 2 Farmhouse, Rockwood ON, January 2003. TRACKS 2, 5, 8, 9 recorded at th' Schvitz, Toronto, spring 2003. TRACK 3 recorded at The Black Sheep Inn, Wakefield QC, March 2003. Mixed and mastered at th' Schvitz by Do Make Say Think.