Not Somewhere
CST142      180gLP MP3 FLAC
"'Everything ain't going the way I planned,' Colin Huebert sings on the opening track to his fourth Siskiyou album, Not Somewhere. Like its title indicates, this is a record that is rooted in its nowhere-ness. Folk-y one moment, cacophonous the next, Not Somewhere is warm, haunting and impossible to absorb in just one listen. It speaks to the frustration, helplessness and rage that accompany the dissolution of certain dreams; displacement and other capitalist horrors; mental health and the lies we tell ourselves; and all the unplanned endings and reluctant new beginnings we undertake because we have to, because that's what living is. It’s also darkly funny. The vocals are loosely and lushly layered, pillows full of feathers coming apart at the seams. Horns flare up and fall away, acoustic guitars like open hearts and sunrises, a gentle brush of drums, cello and woodwinds that alternate between a whisper and a scream. It’s not easy to be a person right now, and Huebert captures that beautifully."
CBC Music

"Siskiyou's latest album gets under your skin. Not Somewhere is bold and weird and deeply human, uneasy listening at its finest."

"Not Somewhere’s half-hour course makes a fitting companion for what ails us… If naming your fears is the first step in an effort to conquering them, Not Somewhere towers in triumph for that alone.”

NervousSiskiyou   CD / 180gLP / DL
Keep Away the DeadSiskiyou  CD / 180gLP / DL
SiskiyouSiskiyou   CD / 180gLP / DL
DevastatesElfin Saddle  CD / 180gLP / DL
Ringing For The Begin AgainElfin Saddle   CD / 180gLP / DL

Audiophile 180gram pressing in midnight ultra-black vinyl from Optimal (Germany) comes in a 20pt/420gsm jacket printed on uncoated 100% recycled paperboard, with 12x24 art print poster + 12x12 insert printed on uncoated paper + 320kbps MP3 download card.



Siskiyou returns from a four-year hiatus with Not Somewhere, an album that finds band leader Colin Huebert (ex-Great Lake Swimmers) essentially in solo artist mode, writing and self-recording this new collection of tunes on his own, playing all the guitar, bass, keyboard and drum parts himself. Not Somewhere harkens back to Siskiyou’s magical and understated 2010 self-titled debut in this and other ways: the album’s production rekindles a homespun intimacy, where plain-spoken lyrics grapple with portraits of quiet quotidian despair, fragile existential horizon lines separating perseverance and defeatism, honest and unremarkable lives trapped in cultures of false consciousness, impossible desire, self-analysis and self-medication.

Following Siskiyou’s Polaris-nominated third full-length Nervous released in early 2015, Huebert was commissioned by New York-based artist/designer Stefan Sagmeister (of Sagmeister & Walsh) to write the theme song for The Happy Film, a feature-length movie accompaniment to “The Happy Show” installation project that had toured galleries in the mid-2010s – the art show and film themselves being ruminations on happiness that strongly echo Huebert’s own tone and sensibility. Sagmeister wanted the direct, unadorned aesthetic of early Siskiyou for the film music, leading Huebert to often write and record songs in the same day, in diaristic sketchbook form, without a thought towards the more ornate structures and developments of material he had just finished up with Nervous. This commission yielded the album’s title and the opening track “Stop Trying”(the eventual theme song for the movie) which includes a short looped clip of film dialogue repeating the line “trying is the problem; you’re trying to get somewhere as if you’re not somewhere”.

Huebert ended up with a dozen songs written under this influence, but shelved the recordings while real life took over: driven from Vancouver by skyrocketing rents and zombie capital that was increasingly leaving the city a shell of its former self, he relocated to Toronto with his young family. Returning to the material once resettled, Huebert finished up the record with contributions from various guest musicians on strings and horns (including cellist and labelmate Rebecca Foon from Saltland/Esmerine, and Destroyer regulars Joseph Shabason and JP Carter on horns and woodwinds). The result is a beautifully restrained and unvarnished song cycle of tunes anchored by acoustic guitar and brushed drumming, detailed with delicate textures, spartan melodic overdubs, and Huebert’s distinctively forthright, whisperingly confidential vocal delivery. From the austere Velvets-chug of “What Ifs” to the Elephant 6-inspired looseness of “Her Aim Is Tall” and “Stop Trying (jubilant reprise)” and the sparkling hush of atmospheric twilight folk-inflected pieces like “Temporary Weakness” and “Silhouette”, Not Somewhere is delicate and discreet yet wonderfully assured – a profoundly humble, wistfully observational and meditatively personal return for Huebert’s Siskiyou project.

Thanks for listening.

Release date: 17 May 2019
Running time: 42:56

Packaging notes
Audiophile 180gram pressing in midnight ultra-black vinyl from Optimal (Germany) comes in a 20pt/420gsm jacket printed on uncoated 100% recycled paperboard, with 12x24 art print poster + 12x12 insert printed on uncoated paper + 320kbps MP3 download card.

Album design by Colin Huebert
Image of Dean Martin’s house courtesy of Betty Huebert

1. Stop Trying
2. What Ifs
3. Temporary Weakness
4. The End II /// Song of Joy
5. Untitled 32 (live off the land)
6. Dying Dying Dying /// Wake Wake Wake
7. Unreal Erections /// Severed Heads
8. Nothing Disease
9. Silhouette
10. Her Aim Is Tall
11. Stop Trying (jubilant reprise)
12. Unreal Erections /// Severed Heads (alternate outro)


All songs written, performed, recorded and produced by Colin Huebert, winter 2015.

With exceptions:

“Her Aim is Tall” written, performed and recorded by Colin Huebert and Adam Fox, summer 2014.

“Unreal Erections /// Severed Heads (alternate outro)” written by Colin Huebert; arranged, recorded and performed by Joseph Shabason with Tom Moffett, spring 2018.

JP Carter: affected trumpet (1)
Jacob Chan: violin (4)
Rebecca Foon: cello (6, 8)
Bryden Baird: trumpet (7)
Joseph Shabason: saxophone, flute (7, 12)
Cris Derksen: cello (8)
Tom Moffett: trumpet (12)
Adrian Smith: trumpet (11)

Mastered by Harris Newman at Greymarket.