On Sale

Silent Your Body Is Endless

Sale price

  • - 0%
  • Regular price $9.00
    ( / )


    CST071   180gLP • DL

    Release Date: 17 November 2010

    Duration: 45:36


    Khôra is the work of Toronto-based multi-instrumentalist and producer Matthew Ramolo. He created Silent Your Body Is Endless in complete isolation and self-released it in a tiny private-press CD edition in 2009. The album was then re-sequenced, re-mixed and re-mastered in collaboration with Constellation for inclusion in the label's inaugural edition of its Musique Fragile series.

    Matthew's initial CD copies of Silent Your Body Is Endless (available by writing him at his website) trickled through a few hands in Montreal in 2009. The album went to the top of CKUT's music charts within a week of being aired, and garnered well-deserved praise from the smatterings of music press that managed to stumble across it.

    Ramolo's Khôra project is based chiefly on acoustic/electric guitar and field recordings, with extensive signal processing and digital interventions conditioning these sources to create an immersive soundworld of drones, chimes, rings and other pointillistic sonics. His longform compositions contain lovely stretches of relatively unprocessed and fully recognisable guitar work, with picking patterns and chord sequences that evolve/devolve into more signal-bent and DSP soundscapes. The results are highly organic and meditative while retaining plenty of icy shards, bubbling distortions and passages of controlled monumentalism, making this anything but an ambient listen. 



    180 gram virgin vinyl LP pressing comes in a thick 25pt chipboard jacket with 3-colour silkscreen print in black, burgundy and metallic gold inks. LP includes an 11"x22" silkscreen poster. Jacket design by Matthew Ramolo. Poster design by Joe Dodaro.

    Please see Musique Fragile Vol. 01 for additional packaging components when this album is purchased as part of the 3-album Musique Fragile set.




    Everything composed, performed, recorded and mixed by Matthew Ramolo.