On Sale

The Hungry Saw

Sale price

  • - 0%
  • Regular price $14.00
    ( / )


    CST055   180gLP • CD • DL

    Release date: 10 September 2008

    Duration: 45:07


    The Hungry Saw came out in Europe in April 2008 via Beggars Banquet. Constellation released it in North America in September 2008.

    Staunch republicans that we are, we’ll avoid references to “musical royalty” provided by the Beggars Banquet PR department. However, we’ll readily agree that there is something masterful, authoritative, wise, world-weary and maybe even a bit regal about the Tindersticks sound – elements that are all in full and fine effect on this album. But if the band wears capes, they nicked them, threw them around in the dirt some, and have since subjected them to many a wine stain and cigarette burn. Their crowns are homemade from scavenged metals, held together with wire and twine.

    The Hungry Saw was a true return to form for the band, after a five year hiatus. In that time, front-man Stuart Staples relocated to France and built his own Chien Chanceux recording studio, where this album was made (co-recorded and mixed by Staples himself). Original members Staples, David Boulter and Neil Fraser were augmented by the rhythm section of Tim Belhom (drums) and Dan Mckinna (bass). A long list of guest players was also included in the sessions, and the record – while cloaked in the inimitably beautiful, tempered melancholy and delicate irony that has marked the band’s past ouevre – also bristles with renewed energy, focus, experimentation and yes, even playfulness. A welcome return by one of the most interesting and literate English bands of the last two decades.


    LP is pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal in Germany, and comes in a 100% recycled paperboard jacket with 10"x10" silkscreened credits insert and lyrics booklet.

    CD comes in a custom gatefold jacket printed on 100% recycled paperboard with a printed CD dust sleeve and lyrics booklet.


    Thomas Belhom: drums, percussion
    David Boulter: piano, organ, percussion, guitar
    Neil Fraser: electric and acoustic guitar
    Dan McKinna: bass guitar, singing
    Stuart A. Staples: acoustic guitar, percussion, voice

    Terry Edwards: trumpet, saxophone, brass arrangements
    Joanne Fraser: flute
    Caroline Hall: trombone
    Sally Hibbert: violin
    Calina de la Mare: violin, string arrangement (Track 6)
    Andy Nice: cello, solo cello
    Suzanne Osborne: singing
    Louise Peacock: violin
    Julian Siegel: bass clarinet
    Lucy Wilkins: lead violin, string arrangements (Tracks 6, 7, 9, 13)
    Sarah Wilson: cello

    Recorded at Le Chien Chanceux, Eastcote and Olympic studios by Ian Caple, Stuart A. Stapless, Philip Bagenal and Anna Tjan, 2007.
    Mixed at Le Chien Chanceux by Stuart A. Staples.
    Produced by Stuart A. Staples.
    Mastered at Loud Mastering by John Dent.